Questions & Answers

What is MotoGP?

The MotoGP World competition is defined by motorcycle road racing; it considered the top level of for motorcycles. It is classified into 3 modules: MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3. All 3 modules of these classes use four-stroke engines. Then after 2009 they were then restored by the new 4-stroke class.

When is the MotoGP season?

The Season is from March to November all around the world.

What countries does MotoGP race in?

  • Qatar, Doha, Losail International Circuit
  • San Marino, Rimini, Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
  • Spain, Alcañiz, Motorland Aragon
  • United States, Austin, Circuit of the Americas
  • Argentina, Autódromo Termas de Río Hondo
  • Spain, Jerez de la Frontera, Circuito de Jerez
  • France, Le Mans, Circuit Bugatti
  • Italy, Scarperia, Mugello Circuit
  • Japan, Motegi, Twin Ring Motegi
  • Australia, Phillip Island, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
  • Malaysia, Sepang, Sepang Circuit
  • Spain, Valencia, Circuit Ricardo Tormo
  • Spain, Montmelo, Circuit de Catalunya
  • Netherlands, Assen, TT Circuit Assen
  • Germany, Chemnitz, Sachsenring
  • Austria, Spielberg, Red Bull Ring
  • Czech Republic, Brno, Masaryk Circuit
  • United Kingdom, Silverstone, Silverstone Circuit

What is the MotoGP scoring system?

Current points system
Position 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Points 25 20 16 13 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

What are the classes of MotoGP?

  • MotoGP class
    • In the new MotoGP era which started in 2002, the MotoGP were specified for the engines were two-stroke or four-stroke bikes. There is a power advantage by using the four-stroke engine rather than the two-stroke engine means that in the end there weren’t any two-stroke bikes in the next season. The maximum engine capacity was lowered then reduced the existing weight restriction, then in 2007. However MotoGP-class motorcycles are not restricted by the organization to any precise engine designs.
  • Moto2 class
    • Moto2 is the second level class in the MotoGP that requires a four-stroke class engine They launched in 2010 in order to replace the traditional two-stroke MotoGP engine class. While the MotoGP has given requirements that the tires by Dunlop, Honda provides the engines, and FIM sanctioned producers supply the electronics with a maximum cost of the MotoGP set at 650 EUR. Moreover MotoGP banned carbon-fiber brakes and requires steel breaks. From 2010 onwards, there are only Moto2 four-stroke bikes are allowed in the class.
  • Moto3 class
    • The next class is Moto3 which was started in 2012. The bikes in this class are only single-cylinder four-stroke engines that can have a maximum bore of 81 mm. With a minimum of 148 kg as the standards, this is for both the bike and the rider. The riders have to be at least 28 years old but there is an exception for 25 years old but this is to get new riders experience.